We have several announcements related to the process of establishing our union as well as some information on an ongoing University Senate election in which associate researchers are eligible to participate. To become a member of the union, sign the new Local 4100 Membership Card.

ARS are eligible to vote in University Senate Elections, ending 8/18, 12am:

We want to remind Associate Research Scientists and Scholars that there is a Columbia University Senate election taking place for a seat that Associate Research Scientists/Scholars are eligible to vote for. The election will end Aug 18 at 12:00am (Monday midnight). As a union, it is possible for us to work with the Senate on issues that are important to our community, such as bullying, housing, and other important topics, so we encourage eligible voters to participate.

Columbia University Senate <invitations@mail.electionbuddy.com> sent eligible voters a link to vote online and access names and statement of candidates.

Elections Committee and Bylaws Committee updates:

We are pleased to announce results for the CPW-UAW Local 4100 Elections and Bylaws Committees.

ELECTIONS COMMITTEE: As of the close of the nominations period on August 14, 2020, 5pm, the number of members accepting nomination did not exceed the number of positions. Therefore, the following members are elected by acclamation as members of the CPW-UAW Local 4100 Elections Committee:

  • Etienne Meunier

  • Ben Serby

  • Mulugeta Abebe

  • Francesco Cambuli

BYLAWS COMMITTEE: The following five members have volunteered for the CPW-UAW Local 4100 Bylaws Committee:

  • Panos Oikonomou

  • Pierre-Jacques Brun

  • Laureline Josset

  • Tulsi Patel

  • Steven Cook

Congratulations to all of these individuals and we look forward to the next steps in building our Local Union.


CPW-UAW Local 4100 Bargaining Committee