A Big Step Forward for our Postdoc Union: CPW-UAW Files a Petition with the NLRB  

We are excited to announce that today we filed a petition with the National Labor Relations Board seeking certification of CPW-UAW as our union!

Please join us for a town hall to discuss next steps. Come learn more about next steps, ask questions about the process and talk with other postdocs helping to build the union. Please RSVP here so we can know how many people to expect.

The Town Halls will be:

Morningside: Thursday, 8/16, Fairchild Building, room 1000 12:30-1:30pm

CUMC: Friday, 8/17, P&S, Todd Amphitheater room 16-405 1:00-2:00pm

As a majority of postdoctoral researchers have signed up for CPW-UAW, this is an important next step in the establishment of our union. We hope the university will refrain from any efforts to delay the process so that we can move efficiently to an election where we can exercise our democratic choice on whether to engage in collective bargaining to help make the university stronger.

In order to help us prepare for negotiating a strong contract with the Columbia administration, please join hundreds of other postdoctoral researchers and take a minute to fill out the postdoc union bargaining survey.

In moving ahead, we join a growing national movement of academic workers who have come together to form unions as part of the UAW. Postdocs at the University of Washington and the University of Connecticut have both chosen overwhelmingly to unionize in recent months and are now entering negotiations with their universities.

CPW-UAW will be the first postdoc union at a private university and we are excited to join the tens of thousands of postdocs, graduate employees and adjunct faculty unionized with the UAW at over 60+ campuses across the nation.



Members of the CPW-UAW Organizing Committee:

Silvia Affo, PhD (Department of Medicine, Digestive & Liver Diseases)

Medini Annavajhala, PhD (Department of Medicine, division of Infectious Diseases)

Florence Borot, PhD (Department of Medicine)

Debanjana Chatterjee, PhD (Department of Medicine, Nephrology)

Subrata Chowdhury, PhD (Department of Genetics and Development)

Steven Cook, PhD (Department of Biological Sciences)

Álvaro Cuesta-Domínguez, PhD (Department of Physiology and Cellular Biophysics)

Nabil Daddaoua, PhD (Department of Neuroscience)

Jonathan De Roo, PhD (Department of Chemistry)

Rainer Engelken, PhD (Department of Neuroscience)

Carlos Forsythe (Department of Physics)

Marta Galán-Díez, PhD (Department of Physiology and Cellular Biophysics)

Yoona Kang, PhD (Department of Genetics and Development)

Kalpita Karan, PhD (Department of Psychiatry, Behavioral Medicine)

Reka Letso-Recinos, PhD (Department of Biological Sciences)

Zachary McDargh, PhD (Department of Chemical Engineering)

Fabian Munoz, PhD (Department of Neuroscience)

Panos Oikonomou, Phd (Department of Systems Biology)

Maria Jose Ortuño Romero, PhD (Department of Genetics and Development)

Tulsi Patel, PhD (Department of Pathology and Cell Biology)

Evan Paull, PhD (Department of Systems Biology)

Laura Pereira, PhD (Department of Biological Sciences)

Pablo Pérez-Duran, PhD (Institute for Cancer Genetics)

Hila Milo Rasouly, PhD (Department of Medicine, division of Nephrology)

Dario Sirabella, PhD (Columbia Stem Cell Core Facility)

Evgenia Verovskaya, PhD (Department of Genetics and Development)

Agnieszka Wendorff, PhD (Institute for Cancer Genetics)

Naomi Zewde, PhD (School of Social Work)